When we first entered the pandemic, I wouldn’t have called myself an anxious person. But the more I watched work and life as I knew it wither away, the more I felt that pit in my stomach grow. I found myself awake at random hours of the night trying to figure out my next steps, both in life and in work. This did lead to some fruitful brainstorming, and while I’m on the other side of the early-pandemic struggles now, I can absolutely guarantee I would’ve slept much more soundly with the Baloo Weighted Blanket from pandemic day one. As a super-hot sleeper, this was top of mind for me when testing out the Baloo Weighted Blanket. I figured with extra weight this blanket would leave me toasty, but it’s actually cool enough for all climates, all year-round. With no polyester, no synthetic liners, and a breathable, natural, chemical-free construction, it stays surprisingly cool from slumber to alarm clock. Another misconception I had about the weight blanket was cleaning. Can you really put a 15-pound anything in the washer and dryer? Yet again, my eyes were opened. The Baloo Weighted Blanket is safe for the washer and dryer (with cold water). I washed it before first use, and it was clean and dried within a few hours. Now, I wasn’t always a weighted-blanket fan. I was skeptical about this bedding from the get-go. Isn’t it suffocating to sleep under a huge weight? Actually, no. It’s quite the opposite. The Baloo Weighted Blanket is like a bedtime hug, a cozy end to the day with a subtle weight that mentally and perhaps even physically decompresses me. I could snuggle under this Baloo Weighted Blanket forever—and, with its cool, 100 percent cotton exterior and interior, I could do so without getting too hot. Did the Baloo Weighted Blanket cure my anxiety? Hardly. But then again, pandemic-induced anxiety is hardly solvable with one little (albeit heavy) weighted blanket. But it helped. The Baloo Weighted Blanket helped me fall asleep more easily. Getting under the covers felt like the perfect blend of a serene, stress-reduced sanctuary and a cool-yet-cozy bedtime hug. The only downfall I could find with the Baloo Weighted Blanket was the price. At $169 for the full/queen, this blanket is on the pricier end. Is it worth it? Absolutely, especially if anxiety is a sleep disrupter. But, even skeptical sleepers can give it a try because Baloo offers 100 percent satisfaction guaranteed, with a refund or replacement option for those not satisfied.

How heavy is the blanket?

The Baloo Weighted Blanket comes in three sizes: full/queen at 15 pounds, full/queen at 20 pounds, and king at 25 pounds. Baloo also has a “which weight is right for you?” quiz to help you navigate sizing options. Experts say to choose a weighted comforter that’s around 10 percent of your body weight (you don’t want it too heavy or else it’ll smother you!).

Does it stay in place?

Much to my surprise, yes! I was worried it would be like past duvets I’ve had, where it bunches in one corner and slips and slides within the cover. But it’s not. The Baloo Weighted Blanket was designed with a quilted pattern to hold the weighted filling in place, meaning bunching and pooling is not an issue.

How do you clean it?

The Baloo Weighted Blanket is machine washable and dryer safe. Baloo suggests using cold water with a gentle, whites-only cycle. Use low heat for drying as well.

Can you put a duvet cover on it?

Yes! The 15-pound blanket comes with six tie loops along the side for attaching a duvet cover.

What is the blanket made of?

The blanket is made from 100 percent cotton on the inside and outside. This is how it’s able to stay so cozy and cool throughout the night. It also has a glass microbead fill to ensure it stays cool year-round.

Baloo Weighted Blanket vs. Brooklinen Weighted Comforter 

Baloo’s weighted blanket caught my attention quickly, with its cozy build, quality materials, and cool-year-round features. But Baloo is far from the only brand to offer this exciting sleep innovation. Brooklinen, another renowned name in bedding, has its own adaptation: the Brooklinen Weighted Comforter. This high-quality comforter is slightly more expensive than Baloo’s, running for around $249 for the 15-pound comforter. Baloo’s blanket is around $169. Is the Brooklinen comforter worth the extra $80? Not necessarily. It has a similar construction, with a plush filling and evenly distributed glass microbeads for extra weight, just like the Baloo. It’s also made with long-staple cotton for comfort and softness. The Brooklinen comforter has won awards, but I was definitely happy as can be with the less expensive Baloo Weighted Blanket option. While the Baloo Weighted Blanket didn’t cure my anxiety, it did help me sleep more soundly—and nothing sets the mood for a good day like waking up under this cool-and-cozy hug!