Playing with my kids on the floor, I get a better view of all the crumbs, dirt, and general debris that they track in and leave behind. Our dark grey cat also sheds her fair share of fur, which stands out on our white rugs. Getting a full-sized vacuum out every time I want to clean up quickly isn’t always practical or easy. A stick vacuum is my favorite solution for day-to-day cleaning. The Shark APEX DuoClean Corded Stick Vacuum comes in a large box. For a lightweight vacuum, it was heavy and bulky. But I could move it inside and to the living room without needing help. It requires minor assembly, such as attaching the stick to the vacuum head. The vacuum comes with a Quick Start Guide covering the main features and how to assemble the vacuum. It has written directions and easy-to-understand illustrations.  The Shark APEX DuoClean Corded Stick Vacuum has two settings, one for hard floors such as wood or tile and one for carpets. Besides the excellent cleaning performance, I loved using the same vacuum on all surfaces in my home. The brush head is self-cleaning, another feature that I loved. After picking up pet hair, long stringy debris left on the floor by my children, and my long hair, one of my biggest pet peeves with vacuum is I had to stop to clean the brushes constantly. This vacuum continuously cleans the rotating brushes. This feature means vacuuming is more effective and goes faster. This vacuum was light enough that even my 4-year-old could use it. I appreciate this benefit because it gives him the chance to clean the house, which he loves. It teaches him that it’s essential to pick up after yourself, which I love. The suction was powerful enough that he didn’t have to operate it precisely to make some good progress on cleaning. The vacuum head swivels and has a light on the front. This light helped me see the debris that hides in dark corners. Even in rooms like the bathroom that didn’t have a lot of natural light, I easily saw all of the dirt and crumbs that needed vacuuming. Two included brushes are a bristle brush to get the ground-in dirt and a soft brush to get surface debris. I prefer to use the full stick vacuum for stairs, but others opt for the handheld option. The decision is up to you. You can detach the wand and use an attachment if you still want or need the extended reach. This long wand is an excellent option for baseboards, window sills, or other hard-to-reach places. I used the vacuum as a handheld unit to vacuum crumbs off the couch and in my car. Press the labeled wand release button to detach it. You will need to keep it plugged in, so ensure that you have an exterior outlet handy if you plan to use it outside. The vacuum comes with a few specialized accessories, such as a precision duster attachment and the mini motorized brush. Other attachments are available separately from Shark. Depending on your needs, you may find that you want a crevice tool, pet multi-tool, or under-appliance wand. While it would be nice to have more accessories included in this purchase, I appreciate that not all users have the same needs and that many of the accessories that come with vacuums end up go unused and take up space. Only getting what I will use keeps the clutter to a minimum in my home. After using the Shark APEX DuoClean Corded Stick Vacuum, you wrap the cord for easy storage. You can purchase a wall mount from Shark separately. I highly recommend the wall mount. It keeps the vacuum easily accessible.

Is this vacuum portable?

The vacuum is lightweight and portable, but it’s corded. The cord is long at 30 feet. I moved between my living room, kitchen, and dining room before I had to find a closer outlet. Shark offers a few cordless stick vacuums, although they are much pricier.

Is this a good vacuum for carpet or wood floors?

This vacuum works on both carpet and wood floors. I used it in my living room, where I have wood floors and an area rug. I was able to easily transition from one surface to another using this vacuum. This capability was one of my favorite things about this vacuum.

How big is the canister?

The dirt canister is at the top end of the stick vacuum. It has an extra-large capacity of 3/4 of a quart and is relatively heavy compared to the lightweight stick vacuum. This topheaviness made it difficult to keep the vacuum upright when I leaned it against a wall or piece of furniture. The trade-off is I was happy not having to empty the canister often while cleaning. Emptying the canister is pretty easy, although detaching it from the vacuum requires two hands. You need to squeeze two release buttons at the same time to remove the canister from the vacuum. I rested the vacuum on the floor when doing this step to make sure that the dirt didn’t spill back onto the floor. Then, you carry the canister to a garbage can and press the labeled “Empty” button to open it.

How many attachments come with this vacuum?

This vacuum only came with two attachments, although more are available for purchase from Shark. I recommend the wall mount and any attachments that work for your needs, such as the under-appliance attachment or the pet and upholstery tool.

Shark APEX DuoClean Corded Stick Vacuum vs. Dyson V8 Animal Stick Vacuum 

If having a cordless stick vacuum is essential for you, I love the Dyson V8 Animal Stick Vacuum. The cleaning power is comparable to the Shark APEX DuoClean Corded Stick Vacuum, although it is more than double the price. The Dyson Stick Vacuum has more tool attachments, a wall holder, and a long-life battery, making those extra features worth the higher price for many.